top of page

Roma Clay Target Club Inc - A Little About Us
















Roma Clay Target Club was formed on September 12th 1914. The club first shot clays at the old racecourse then moved to the Bungewogorai Creek before going into recession during WWII.

The club was reformed in 1948 by the late Keith Cameron and shot on "Comyndale" until moving to the old club on the corner of Geoghegan Road and Currey Street, Roma, in 1956. This block is still owned by the club and used for camping and practice purposes.

In October 1995 the club began fencing and planting trees at the current Geoghegan Road site adjacent to the old grounds. The club now boasts the second largest DTL layout in the country and possibly the best background. A fully licensed and air-conditioned clubhouse is the venue for many functions throughout the year. The club has a long history of members representing Queensland and Australia, which continues today.


The club is affiliated with the
Australian Clay Target Association 
Queensland Clay Target Association
Sporting Shooters Association of Australia (Qld).

Weapons Act approval is held for Category A, B, C, D  (training only) and H firearms.

The club conducts clay target competitions monthly. Members Shotgun Practice  every Thursday from 4PM with BBQ and Night shooting until 9PM.

Smallbore every Thursday for both members and non-members from dusk under lights. Pistol shoots are held every Sunday at 10 am and the range is open for smallbore and benchrest later. Non members can shoot shotgun on the last Thursday of every month from 5PM with a BBQ and Night shooting until 9PM.


Weapons Act Safety Courses are conducted bi-monthly.

Roma Gun Club Roma Clay Target Club Inc.

Roma Gun Club

Queensland - Australia

Est 1914

Past Presidents

1949 - 1957 K.F.Cameron 
1958 - 1959 H.Carne 
1960    L.Hammond 
1961 - 1965 K.F.Cameron 
1966 - 1967 A.B.T.Dean 
1968 - 1969 E.Denton 
1970 - 1971 R.A.Dean 
1972 - 1975 A.Hinder 
1976    R.A.Dean 
1977    G.G.Bryant 
1978 - 1980 O.E.Bryant 
1981 - 1983 C.C.Reid 
1984 - 1985 B.Cameron 
1986 - 1987 R.Cameron 
1988 - 1989 P.Kajewski 
1990 - 1991 R.P.Rosenberger 
1992 - 2009 R.E.O.Nugent

2010 - 2011 Michael Keegan

2012 - 2013 Cliff Reid

2013 - 2015 Robert Nugent

2016 - 2018 Byron Hewitt

2018 - Current Andrew Whyte

bottom of page